HOPE

I’m so thankful I live life with hope… Last night I went to the cinema with some of the Mums from the school my kids go to. I really had no idea what we were going to see, I just went along for the glass of wine I’d share with friends before {and after}. When the film began I knew right away that it was going to be heavy. It’s a Spanish movie, and won awards at the Cannes Film Festival. I can’t really sum up the film, I’m sure I don’t know all the layers of meaning and thought and themes that were there. I just saw the life of a man with no hope of a way out. Fighting to keep himself and his children safe and healthy in terrible circumstances {he didn’t win the health fight, he died at the end, sorry to ruin it, but don’t expect you’ll be seeing it!}. So the film has haunted me {which is exactly the reason Mike doesn’t want me to see these kinds of films}. Every quiet moment I’ve had today {there have been surprisingly many, I walked a lot today} the images and sense of their hopelessness have surfaced. What good can come from watching something like that? Perspective for one, it sure puts my struggles into perspective. Thankfulness is another, it’s pretty easy to see the blessings I have in my life, how rich and full my life is. But still, where is the hope for the hopeless? Jesus is my hope, but how does that feed the hungry and love the neglected? How do I do that? I have no answers, or brilliant ideas, just thoughts.

When I got home last night, I needed to peek in on my children, kiss them {in their sleep} and say a prayer of thanksgiving. I have hope, and I am thankful.


One thought on “HOPE

  1. big thoughts! sounds like a movie I may avoid… but I wanted to post a thought in response…

    maybe I disagree with the word ‘hopeless’. Regarding Hope, is to look at the world with eyes of hope, and to look at each person with potential to see that there is the possibility to help/love/save/cheer them. It’s hard to be one person and consider the poverty and famine in a whole country or people group. But, on a smaller scale- my hope is that your post inspired us all to love the neglected ones we know, and feed the hungry ones and reach out to those put in our paths. That is hope that I can get my head around in this world… to overflow with hope.

    I have hope that Jesus makes life hopeful.

Leave a Reply

