old friends

I found out this morning that an old friend of mine died last night in a car accident. His wife is in critical condition, pregnant with their first baby. He was an old friend-of-the-family kind of friend. I haven’t spoken to or seen him in years, my memories are from long ago, family camping trips and meals together, that type of thing. All I can think of is how horrible it would to lose a husband, or a son.

Last week I found out another old friend of mine had a baby die in her womb, she was 9 weeks pregnant. Again I haven’t seen her in years, but my heart hurts for her.

Yesterday I found out there was a devastating earthquake in a city in New Zealand where another friend lives. I haven’t seen her in a year, since she moved away from Glasgow. They are a family of five, with 3 young girls, I can’t help but think of how terrifying it must have been.

Trying to make sense of it all I look for a reason, a connection, a lesson. Of course it’s not about ME, I don’t need to make it so, but I wonder how, in the midst of these tragedies, do I help? I am a helper. It’s how I’m wired, and I think it’s how I cope. My first instinct is to try to think of anything that will be even slightly helpful. I can’t bring the grieving family a meal, I can’t take care of my friends other two kids so she can have some quiet time to process. I can’t offer any sort of assistance to friends on the other side of the world.

Putting myself in their shoes, I have been praying. But the first question that comes to mind… do they feel comfort knowing that God is sovereign? Even in these tragedies? I will continue to intercede, it’s something i can do. All day my heart has been heavy, the depth of loss these people and their families are feeling is overwhelming. Life is so fragile. I don’t have any answers, or even good insights, just heaviness, countered by hopefulness that God will use this for his glory, somehow.

Leave a Reply

