a few of my favourite things

In the wake of all the heaviness I shared yesterday, this morning I got to read about a new baby boy, born to a dear College friend. Life is so precious! I wanted to lighten things up a bit today so I thought I’d share a few of my favourite things, and definitely topping that list is newborn babies. The way they smell, the way they curl up in a tiny ball, the way they know and need their mamas. I’ll stop now before I make Mike nervous.

Stella just a few weeks old

Border Collies. I am a total dog freak, I love them. Every dog I see is my best friend, and I can’t help myself, I have to give their ears a scratch. Now living in the city, and in a flat {that we do not own}, means that for the last 6 and a half years I have gone without a dog. Someday our family will be complete, and we will have another border collie.

our dog Maggie looked just like this

I love this lotion {couldn’t figure out how to get the picture any larger, sorry}. It has just the right scent combination, a little bit of vanilla, a little bit of flowers. I’m obsessed, and have all the co-ordinating bath products to prove it.

I have a pair of these ballet flats in blue, they are SO comfortable {I think they look great in silver too}. I can’t wait for Spring so I can wear them again!

Coffee. Coffee dates. Cappuccionos. Iced Coffees. Coffee ice-cream. Americanos. I love it all. I most often drink Starbucks coffee. It’s one of those places and always feels familiar, no matter what country I’m in. It was Olivia’s first landmark she recognised just after we moved to Glasgow. I’m not sure, however, how I feel about the new logo, which was on my tall cup of filter coffee I had today.

new logo

Knitting. I love how relaxing it is, the repetitive motion and the sound of the needles ‘clinking’ together.  All the lovely colours and textures of yarn. I’m not sure if it’s the actually knitting or the yarn that I love more.

Granola and yogurt with {frozen} blueberries on top. I eat this everyday for breakfast, and would probably eat it for lunch and dinner too if I lived alone, and didn’t need to provide nutritionally balanced meals for others. I love the crunch of the granola, mixed with the tang of the yogurt {I usually use plain or greek and honey mixed in}. The addition of frozen blueberries came after my brother visited this past fall, they are so delicious.

Well that’s all for today. Just thought I’d give you a wee glimpse into my favourites.

2 thoughts on “a few of my favourite things

Leave a Reply

