mastering the art of procrastination

I could write a book about this. How to push things back, find a million ‘more important’ things to do, “forget”, avoid… the list goes on. I’m not so proud to say yesterday I gave my daughter a lesson in this fine art. Now not a literal lesson of course, more of a lesson by example, which are unfortunately the most effective kind.

I was out at a birthday party Saturday night and another parent of a girl in Olivia’s grade asked how her project was going, or something to that effect. Hmmm, what project exactly? Now this is where one of my key elements of procrastination comes in, I don’t lie about it {I don’t say oh it’s going well, all the while thinking oh dear we haven’t even started!}, I’m pretty honest about it {what assignment? Woopsie, guess we better get started!}. Sure enough, I found the assignment paper later that night, buried in her bag where it was left after I read it several weeks ago. Choose a famous Scot that you admire, create a report about this person… Now my daughter doesn’t exactly know of enough Scots to have one that she admires, so I may have chosen for her, and found a bunch of pictures to take up space enhance her report. I’ll give you some hints;  Missionary, Africa, Victoria Falls, Malaria. Any guesses?

David Livingstone!

He really was an amazing person, you can read up on him here if you’re curious!

So I learned a few lessons from this experience, first of all, DO homework as soon as it is assigned. This was the lesson I learned over and over again in High School and in University. Apparently I still am! I was also struck {again} by the fact that this parenting gig is hard work, and comes with a lot of responsibility! I want my daughter to be a hard worker, to be responsible with her tasks, and most of all to try her best. My job is to help her learn how to do all of those things. This was the first of *many* assignments I will be helping her with I’m sure, and I think we both learned a few things, not only about David Livingstone, but also about how not fun it is to cram the assignment in the day before. Hopefully we’ll do better next time!

Leave a Reply

