what a difference a year makes.

I really don’t know where to begin. It’s been over 3 months of blog silence from me. I’ve had a few things going on. {understatement of the year}

Let’s see…. 2 days after my last blog post this little man entered my life. *swoon*

miles libolt - born october 28, 2011

Isn’t he just amazing? I am completely in love.

Since then it’s been a whirlwind. Olivia’s birthday, train to London for US Visa {which incidentally I did NOT receive as hoped}, movers packing up our flat, clean and leave said flat, good-byes, fly to Washington, celebrate a sister’s wedding, Thanksgiving & Christmas, fly back to Glasgow {with Miles} to finish Visa process, not receive Visa {again}, fly back to Washington.

*Phew* No wonder I’m tired. No wonder I get teary just thinking about facing the grocery store.

On top of all of that craziness, I’m grieving. big. time.

We were in Glasgow for over 7 years. We grew as a family there, in every way. I grew as an individual, finding places of myself I didn’t know were there. Doing things I didn’t think I was capable of. I was once told that if you stay in Glasgow over 3 years it becomes apart of you. I now know that is true. I feel like a part of my heart has been left on the other side of the world.

I’m taking it one day at a time. And for the most part I’m doing ok. I may have to fight back tears on a regular basis (I wasn’t kidding about that grocery store thing), and I may well up every time I get an e-mail from a friend from Glasgow. And I may still refer to Glasgow as home, without even realising it.

But there are a few things I know fore sure. Even when I hear that whisper, the one that says maybe we made a mistake. The one that says you’ll never feel that here.  The one that says you’re alone, no one will ever understand… I know that God’s hand reaches further. That even if we did make a big mistake, God is bigger. God is still here. He does not abandon.

I also know that I need time. And that I can love Glasgow, and what happened there, and still be happy here.

It’s just gonna take a little time.

Leave a Reply

